Myanmar sets up committee to facilitate power transfer to NLD

An eight-member committee has been set up to facilitate the transfer of power from the current Myanmar government to the National League for Democracy Party (NLD).

According to Myanmar News Agency, President Thein Sein met NLD Chairperson Aung San Suu Kyi on Dec 2 to discuss plans for the smooth transfer of state responsibility and exchange views on setting an example of a systematic handover of power as part of the country’s transition to democracy.

The committee members include Union Minister Hla Tun as chairman and Information Union Minister Ye Htut, Director General of the President’s Office Hla Tun, Deputy Director General of the Ministry of Construction Maung Maung Ohn and Director of the President’s Office Zaw Htay.

The NLD has also assigned its Central Executive Committee members Win Htein, Dr Myo Aung and former rector of Yangon University Dr Aung Thu to help coordinate the transition in conjunction with the government’s support committee.

Source: CNA

NB: The best way to find information on this website is to key in your search terms into the Search Box in the top right corner of this web page. E.g. of search terms would be “property research report”, ”condominium law”, "Puma Energy", “MOGE”, “yangon new town”,"MECTEL", "hydropower", etc.