Myanmar introduces new visa regulations

MYANMAR’s Ministry of Immigration and Population announced yesterday new visa regulations effective immediately.

Under the new system, there are 12 types of entry visas: Diplomatic; official; tourist; social; journalist; crew; workshop; business; employment; religious; educational; and transit.

The diplomatic visa is free and the duration offered is based on the length of duty required. The 28-day official and tourist visas cost US$20, while the 70-day business, employment, religious and education visas cost US$36. Meanwhile, the 28-day social, journalist, crew and workshop visas cost US$36. The 24-hours transit visa costs US$18.

Applications for business, workshop, crew and transit visas can be obtained on arrival at Yangon International Airport, Mandalay International Airport and Nay Pyi Taw International Airport while other visas can be applied at Myanmar embassies worldwide.

There are also three types of multiple-entry visas. Multiple-journey special re-entry visas cost US$180, while special re-entry visas cost US$54 for permitted period. Six-month re-entry visas cost US$4.

Re-entry visas can be applied in Yangon, at the Foreign Affairs Branch located at 122 Pansodan Street, Kyauktada Township.

Phyoe Wai Yar Zar, chairman of Myanmar Tourism Marketing said the new visa system was introduced to better align with ASEAN standards.

“I find this new visa system will have no significant effect on the leisure market, but it is diversifying visa categories for work and business. It will likely draw more business travelers to the country,” he added.

Source: TTG Asia


To see a detailed table of the 12 types of visa available to foreigners click here

NB: The best way to find information on this website is to key in your search terms into the Search Box in the top right corner of this web page. E.g. of search terms would be “property research report”, ”condominium law”, "Puma Energy", “MOGE”, “yangon new town”,"MECTEL", "hydropower", etc.