NLD to take 25% of MPs’ salary

The central executive committee of the National League for Democracy (NLD) has instructed its MPs to donate 25 per cent of their salary to party funds.

Lower House MPs Dr May Win Myint and Aung Soe and Min Oo and Kyaw Thiha from the Upper House were assigned to collect the money.

Chairperson Aung San Suu Kyi notified MPs on November 28 that their salary would be taxed for the party fund.

MP Dr Thet Thet Khine said: “The NLD decided to take Ks250,000 if the MP is from the Union Parliament. Senior MPs will have to pay at least half of their salary. The people are poor but the MPs they voted for earn far more than them. Also the party is poor and needs to transform its headquarters. The party cannot hire offices at the township level. We have had to open offices in people’s apartments. However, there may be people who use it as an opportunity to interfere in our work.”

The NLD won 886 seats in November: 255 Lower House seats, 135 in the Upper House, 475 seats in the regional and state parliaments and 21 ethnic minority seats.


Source: Eleven Media

NB: The best way to find information on this website is to key in your search terms into the Search Box in the top right corner of this web page. E.g. of search terms would be “property research report”, ”condominium law”, "Puma Energy", “MOGE”, “yangon new town”,"MECTEL", "hydropower", etc.