MIC divides country into three categories

The Myanmar Investment Commission has established three development categories, offering different income tax exemptions depending on the level of development.

Under the Myanmar Investment Law, the least developed zones include 14 townships in Kachin State, seven each in Kayah and Kayin, nine in Chin, 35 in Sagaing Region, four in Tanintharyi, five in Bago, 13 in Magway, two each in Mandalay and Mon, 17 in Rakhine, 42 in Shan and 10 in Ayeyawady.

Bago has the most moderately developed zones with 23 townships, followed by Ayeyawady with 17, Shan with 14, Mandalay and Yangon with 13 each, Magway with 12, Mon and Nay Pyi Taw with eight each, Taningtharyi with seven, Kachin with four and Sagaing with three.

In addition, 14 townships in Mandalay and 32 in Yangon were listed as “developed” zones.

The investment promotion plan has prioritised townships instead of regions and states.

Investors in the least-developed regions will get an income tax exemption for seven years, investors in “moderately” developed townships will get for five years of exemptions and investors in developed regions will get three years of tax breaks.

With government approval, the MIC could designate the development level of townships, said the Ministry of Planning and Finance.

Source: Eleven Myanmar

To see the detailed list of the 3 Zones by States or Region please go to https://consult-myanmar.com/designation-of-development-zone-under-myanmar-investment-law-notification-no-102017/

NB: The best way to find information on this website is to key in your search terms into the Search Box in the top right corner of this web page. E.g. of search terms would be “property research report”, ”condominium law”, "Puma Energy", “MOGE”, “yangon new town”,"MECTEL", "hydropower", etc.