Yangon Region issues licences to over 340 hotels, over 100 guesthouses

The Hotels and Tourism Ministry and the regional tourism committee have granted licenses to a total of 346 hotels with 21,142 rooms, and 101 guesthouses with 2,014 rooms.

“Yangon, the commercial hub of the country, is attracting tourists due to its cultural significance and heritage. To ensure sufficient rooms, the ministry has been issuing licences to hotels and guesthouses,” said U Maung Maung Kyaw, the director-general of the Ministry of Hotels and Tourism.
Yangon’s most famous landmark is the Shwedagon pagoda, and the city boasts several gilded pagodas besides British colonial buildings, heritage sites, and business complexes. The Inya Lake and Kandawgyi Park are among other tourist destinations in the city.

Additionally, a Community-Based Tourism (CBT) site was created in Kyaikthale Village in Twantay Township, Yangon Region in February, 2017. More than 2,000 local and foreign travellers have visited the village as of 30 September this year.

As of the last week of September, the regional tourism committee has issued licences to 37 hotels, one temporary hotel, and nine guesthouses, with a total of 2,360 rooms; and construction permits have been granted for 19 hotels and 3 guesthouses. Meanwhile, the committee has issued licences to 315 inbound tours, 121 outbound tours, and 218 tour guides. The total capital for hotels and guesthouses is estimated at K130.16 billion and US$238.29 million, with K5.94 billion and $25.22 million invested by foreign companies, $213.07 million by joint ventures, and K124.22 billion by domestic companies. The projects have created over 2,900 jobs.

Earlier, the hotels and tourism sector was regulated by the Union government. With the implementation of the Myanmar Tourism Law 2018, the sector has been decentralized and more power accorded to the region and state governments, said Naw Pan Thinzar Myo, the Yangon Region Minister for Kayin Ethnic Affairs.

Yangon Region Chief Minister U Phyo Min Thein is the chairman of the regional tourism committee, while Naw Pan Thinzar Myo is the deputy chairman. The committee includes officials from the Ministry of Home Affairs, the Ministry of Religious Affairs and Culture, the Ministry of Labour, Immigration and Population, the Directorate of Hotels and Tourism, the Department of Environmental Conservation, the Yangon City Development Committee, the Union of Myanmar Travel Association, and civil society organizations (CSOs) as members.

Source: Global New Light of Myanamar

To see the original article click link here

NB: The best way to find information on this website is to key in your search terms into the Search Box in the top right corner of this web page. E.g. of search terms would be “property research report”, ”condominium law”, "Puma Energy", “MOGE”, “yangon new town”,"MECTEL", "hydropower", etc.