Yangon to impose lockdown measures for seven townships

Seven townships with the highest number of COVID-19 cases and persons under investigation in Yangon have been instructed by the Union government to implement stricter measures to control the spread of the disease.

The Ministry of Health and Sports on April 18 issued Order No. 38/2020 under Article 21 (b) of the Prevention and Control of Communicable Diseases Law. Under the order, the affected townships are:

South Okkalapa
Shwe Pyi Thar
Hlaing Tharyar

These townships must adhere to the following measures:

1. Except for government employees, corporate employees and factory workers who have to go to work, all residents are required to stay at home;

2. Only one person per household is allowed to leave the house to procure essential supplies;

3. Only two persons per household are allowed to visit a clinic or hospital;

4. All are required to wear masks upon leaving their homes;

5. Only vehicles ferrying passengers to and from their workplaces will be allowed to pass through the townships;

6. When leaving the house to procure essential goods within the ward, only one person is allowed in a vehicle other than the driver;

7. Only two persons are allowed in each vehicle, apart from the driver, when visiting a clinic or hospital;

8. Should there be a need for more than the fixed number of people or passengers to leave their homes or commute, or during emergencies, permission is first required from the ward administrator.

The ministry also stated that except for those who are traveling to and from work, travel into and out of the seven townships will not be allowed.

The new measures will take effect from 6pm on April 18.

Those who fail to comply with the order will be subject to action under the Prevention and Control of Communicable Diseases Law.

U Tun Myint, a law-maker in Bahan township, told the Myanmar Times the measures are being taken because of the increasing number of positive patients and the number of deaths in these townships.

“The government has decided on a semi-lockdown to make it easier for contact trading,” U Tun Myint said.

He said those who live in these townships will only be allowed to move within their own township even when leaving the house for essential supplies. Every resident’s travel history will be recorded.

He said main roads required for public transportation will not be blocked but townships under semi-lockdown will be monitored by COVID-19 protection, control and treatment committees, police and volunteers for security purposes.

U Than Naing Oo, MP of Pabedan township, said efforts will be taken to restrict residents who live in other townships from entering the seven affected.

He added that those who require assistance on basic survival needs will receive help from the authorities.

The measures are on top of a Yangon region government imposed 10pm-4am curfew for all Yangon townships, announced April 17 and effective immediately

All gatherings of five and above have also been prohibited since April 16 by the Union government.

Action will be taken in the event of failure to comply with the new rules.

To see the original article click link here

Source : Myanmar Times

NB: The best way to find information on this website is to key in your search terms into the Search Box in the top right corner of this web page. E.g. of search terms would be “property research report”, ”condominium law”, "Puma Energy", “MOGE”, “yangon new town”,"MECTEL", "hydropower", etc.